Romeo & Juliet

28 August — 7 September, Lyric Theatre, QPAC

The most famous love story of all time.

After a sell-out season in 2014, Sir Kenneth MacMillan’s iconic rendition of the bard’s famous tale of star cross’d lovers, Romeo & Juliet returns for another magnificent season.

MacMillan’s grand production brings the streets of Verona to vibrant life with elegant costumes, majestic sets and daring choreography that matches the dramatic heights of this classic love story. With special guest conductor Alondra de la Parra (Queensland Symphony Orchestra) taking the baton at select performances, this will be a sophisticated production of artistic grandeur.

A drama of romance, passion and tragedy, Romeo & Juliet is the unmissable ballet event of the year.

The Story
The History
School & Community Matinees

Tailored performances with Q&A, perfect for schools.

Q&A POST-PERFORMANCE Q&A

After selected performances at QPAC, a panel of creative artists and dancers discusses aspects of the ballet you’ve just seen.

 

COMPLIMENTARY PROGRAMS

Informative, keepsake programs are distributed free-of-charge at all performances.

 

CREDITS

Choreographer Sir Kenneth MacMillan
Composer Sergei Prokofiev
Conductor Nigel Gaynor
Music performed by Queensland Symphony Orchestra
Set & Costume Designer Paul Andrews
Lighting Designer John B Read
Fight Director & Stager Gary Harris
Stager Julie Lincoln
Principal Coach Leanne Benjamin
Guest Conductor* Alondra de la Parra (select performances)

Choreography taught from the Benesh Notation.

 

 


 

 
  • Wednesday 28 August — 7:30pm Wed 28 Aug — 7:30pm
  • Thursday 29 August — 7:30pm Thu 29 Aug — 7:30pm
  • Friday 30 August — 7:30pm Fri 30 Aug — 7:30pm
  • Saturday 31 August — 1:30pm Sat 31 Aug — 1:30pm
    Class Q&A
  • Saturday 31 August — 7:30pm Sat 31 Aug — 7:30pm
  • Sunday 1 September — 1:30pm Sun 1 Sep — 1:30pm
  • Tuesday 3 September — 6:30pm Tue 3 Sep — 6:30pm
    Q&A
  • Wednesday 4 September — 6:30pm Wed 4 Sep — 6:30pm
  • Thursday 5 September — 1:30pm Thu 5 Sep — 1:30pm
  • Thursday 5 September — 7:30pm Thu 5 Sep — 7:30pm
  • Friday 6 September — 7:30pm Fri 6 Sep — 7:30pm
  • Saturday 7 September — 1:30pm Sat 7 Sep — 1:30pm
  • Saturday 7 September — 7:30pm Sat 7 Sep — 7:30pm

Prices

TUESDAY — THURSDAY (Premium)
Adult $120
Concession $100
30yrs & under $85
Child $75

FRIDAY — SATURDAY (Premium)
Adult $140
Concession $120
30yrs & under $90
Child $80

A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge.

Discounts apply for season ticket packages. Create your own ballet package by choosing just three or more ballets.


Concession: Full Pensioners, QLD Government Seniors Card, Industry (MEAA) Members, Full-time students over 30, Unemployed. National Seniors Card not applicable.

30 yrs & under: Aged 30 years old and under at the time of booking.

Child: Aged 13 years old and under at the time of booking.

Venue

Lyric Theatre, QPAC

— View Map