A Midsummer Night's Dream

1 April — 16 April, Playhouse, QPAC

Proudly supported by Suncorp

"Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind, and therefore is winged Cupid painted blind"

Shakespeare’s whimsical masterpiece has been given new life thanks to acclaimed choreographer Liam Scarlett.  Together with Mendelssohn’s wonderful incidental music, Scarlett’s witty choreography will bring the magical woods, vivid characters and this timeless story of love, jealousy and mistaken identities to life.

Liam Scarlett was appointed The Royal Ballet’s first Artist in Residence in 2012. He has created ballets for The Royal Ballet, and commissions for international companies such as New York City Ballet, San Francisco Ballet and English National Ballet.

From the Choreographer

Liam Scarlett

- Read more

From the Designer

Tracy Grant Lord

- Read more

The Story

Find out more about the story of A Midsummer Night's Dream

- Read more

The History

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is one of Shakespeare’s best-known and best-loved plays.

- Find out more

The Music

Felix Mendelssohn

- Find out more

Q&A POST-PERFORMANCE Q&A

After selected performances at QPAC, a panel of creative artists and dancers discusses aspects of the ballet you’ve just seen.

 

DURATION

2 hours and 15 minutes

COMPLIMENTARY PROGRAMS

Informative, keepsake programs are distributed free-of-charge at all performances.

Click here to read A Midsummer Night's Dream program.

 

 

 

PLEASE NOTE

Please note the performances from Wednesday 13 April to Saturday 16 April will feature recorded music.


SCHOOLS WORKSHOPS

Introduce your students to dance through our range of dance workshops for all ages and abilities. Our EdSquad dancers come to your school to deliver safe, educative and inspiring dance experiences.

— More Info

 

 

CREDITS

Choreographer Liam Scarlett
Composer Felix Mendelssohn
With Queensland Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Nigel Gaynor
Arrangement and Additional Orchestration Nigel Gaynor
Costume and Set Designer Tracy Grant Lord
Lighting Designer Kendall Smith
 

A co-production with the Royal New Zealand Ballet.

Performances

  • Friday 1 April — 7:30pm Fri 1 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 2 April — 1:30pm Sat 2 Apr — 1:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 2 April — 7:30pm Sat 2 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Tuesday 5 April — 6:30pm Tue 5 Apr — 6:30pm
    Sold Out
    Q&A
  • Wednesday 6 April — 7:30pm Wed 6 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Thursday 7 April — 7:30pm Thu 7 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Friday 8 April — 7:30pm Fri 8 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 9 April — 1:30pm Sat 9 Apr — 1:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 9 April — 7:30pm Sat 9 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Tuesday 12 April — 6:30pm Tue 12 Apr — 6:30pm
    Sold Out
    Q&A
  • Wednesday 13 April — 7:30pm Wed 13 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Thursday 14 April — 7:30pm Thu 14 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Friday 15 April — 7:30pm Fri 15 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 16 April — 1:30pm Sat 16 Apr — 1:30pm
    Sold Out
  • Saturday 16 April — 7:30pm Sat 16 Apr — 7:30pm
    Sold Out

Prices

Adult $100
Concession $85
30 yrs & under $65
Child $55
Family $275 (2 adults, 2 children)

An additional transaction fee of $6.95 applies.

Discounts apply for season ticket packages. Create your own ballet package by choosing just two or more ballets.

Venue

Playhouse, QPAC

— View Map

Groups

Groups 8+ $85
One ticket free per group of eight

Schools $25 per student
One teacher free per group of ten

Have Your Say

Supporters of A Midsummer Night's Dream

BackstageView MoreBehind the Scenes of A Midsummer Night's Dream
Play
Highlights - A Midsummer Night's Dream
A Midsummer Night's Dream - Yanela Pinera & Camilo Ramos
Play
QB360 - A Midsummer Night's Dream on stage